We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

Lib Dems Hold Woodbridge,Thedwastre S and St Margarets & Westgate and WIN Stowmarket S

May 7, 2021 2:26 PM


Inga lockington retains St Margarets & Westgate seat in Ipswich

With all 75 seats declared in the County Council elections, Liberal Democrats have gained Stowmarket South from the Conservatives and held three other seats. Keith Scarff beat his Conservative, Labour and Independent opponents with a majority of 176 in this Mid Suffolk seat.

Further successes for the party include Lib Dem Group Leader, Penny Otton who retained her seat in Thedwastre South and Caroline Page who achieved 62% of the vote in the Woodbridge County Division.

In one of the last Divisions to declare Inga Lockington retained her Ipswich seat of St Margarets & Westgate topping the poll with 2,600 votes. Decisions by other parties to stand just one candidate in this two seat Division resulted in the Conservative taking the second seat.

Overall a disappointing night for the party in Suffolk. Whilst missing out on several key targets the Party lives to fight another day in second place with some encouraging poll figures including Stour Valley, Bosmere, Kessingland & Southwold, Blything, Belstead Brook.

Final results for Suffolk - by political party.
Conservative - 55
Green - 9
Labour - 4
Lib Dem - 4
Labour and Co-operative - 1
Independent - 1
West Suffolk Independents -


Congratulations to:

Oliver Holmes who retained the Ipswich Borough Council seat of St Margarets for the Lib Dems

Thank you ()

Saturday 8th May: Declaration

Suffolk Police & Crime Commissioner Election

The Conservative candidate Tim Passmore was elected as Police & Crime Commissioner for Suffolk

See the full result here